The Nine Divine Nights

Posted by admin 10/10/2018 0 Comment(s)



So, the Nine-Nights-Ten-Days celebration has begun! Like Lord Rama worshipped the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga before the fight with Ravana, which led to his victory that we celebrate on the 10th day as Vijayadashmi or Dusshera, even we worship all the nine forms of Maa Durga in this nine days long celebration. Each day has its own peculiar significance quadrating with each form of Maa Durga and nine different colours are highlighted in these days, one colour per day.


Day One- Pratipada



Pratipada, the first day, is dedicated to Shailputri, the daughter of Himalaya, the mountain. She is the embodiment of the powers of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva. She is also known as Sati, Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati. She rides on a bull carrying a Trishul in her right hand and Lotus in her left hand.


On pratipada, people are dressed in Yellow- the colour that symbolizes freshness, positivity, clarity, optimism, enlightenment, remembrance, joy and energy, just like Maa Shailputri, and also make sweets and other yellow dishes like Kesar kheer or Halwa on this day.


Click here to check out perfect Yellow clothing for Pratipada


Day Two- Dwitiya



On Dwitiya- the second day, we worship Brahmacharini, the aspect of Goddess Durga where she lived in mountains like Lord Shiva and kept herself engaged in all activities like that of Lord Shiva’s, such as Tapas and asceticism which drew his attention and awoke his interest. Here, the Goddess walks barefoot and holds a Japamala and Kamandalu in her hands.


The colour of this day is Green- the colour of renewal, safety, fertility and environment. So, on this day, people dress in green and also make sweets like Kacche kele ki barfi in the Northern parts of India.


Click here to check out perfect Green clothing for Dwitiya.


Day Three- Tritiya



The Tritiya or the third day is dedicated to Chandraghanta. It means, “One who has a half moon shaped like a bell.” Goddess Durga got this name after she got married to Lord Shiva because she started adorning her forehead with a half Chandra on her forehead. Her third eye is always open, and she is always open for war against the evil. She rides on a tiger and has ten hands.


On this day, people are dressed in Grey- the colour of sophistication, balance and cool.


Click here to check out perfect Grey clothing for Tritiya.


Day Four- Chaturthi



The Kushmanda form of Goddess Durga is worshipped on the fourth day, Chaturthi. She is said to be the Creator of the Universe, and has the power and capability to reside inside the Sun. She has eight hands and she sits on Lion. She is believed to improve health and bestow with wealth and strength.


The colour everyone paints themselves in, on this day is Orange- the colour that represents warmth, joy, encouragement, bravery, change, enthusiasm, freedom and creativity. Boondi laddoo can be one of the orange sweets to offer and have on this day.


Click here to check out perfect Orange clothing for Chaturthi.


Day Five- Panchami



Goddess Skandmata is worshipped on the fifth day of the nine. She got this name as she gave birth to Lord Skanda who is also known as Lord Karthikeya, who was born out of her powers. She rides a ferocious lion with a baby in one of her four hands. She sits on a lotus which is why she is also called as the Goddess with a Lotus seat (Padmasana). She awards salvation, prosperity, power and treasures to her devotees.


The colour to dress up on this day is White- the colour of peace, purity, innocence, goodness, faith, spirituality, beginnings, illumination and softness. We can have milk sweets like Payasam on this day.


Click here to check out perfect White clothing for Panchami.


Day Six- Sashti



Goddess Katyayini is worshipped on the sixth day of navratri. She is associated with the fierce forms of Durga and is known as the Warrior Goddess. Born out of the anger of Gods, she killed Mahishasura. There are 2- 3 myths behind the derivation of this name; but the wide belief is that she got the name as she was born to Rishi Katya. She rides a Lion and has four hands.


The colour Red is the colour for the day. It depicts fire and blood; so it is associated with war, energy, strength, determination and power, and also passion, desire and love. We can make beetroot halwa or beetroot and carrot juice on this day for the red colour.


Click here to check out perfect Red clothing for Sashti.


Day Seven- Saptami



The seventh form of Goddess Durga is Kalaratri. She is the most ferocious incarnation of the Goddess. She is known for destroying ignorance and removing the darkness from the Universe. This avatar was created when she let go of her fair complexion and embraced a dark colour for her skin to kill the demons Shumbha and Nishumbha. She rides a Donkey and has four hands.


On this day, people dress up in Blue- the colour that is associated with depth, stability, truth, faith, confidence, wisdom, heaven, intelligence and truth. if there is no specific blue coloured food, we can pick blueberrys!


Click here to check out perfect Blue clothing for Saptami.


Day Eight- Ashtami



Mahagauri is the eighth manifestation of Goddess Durga. Mahagauri means extremely white, as she was very fair in colour and beautiful. She rides a bull and is portrayed with four hands, holding a Trishul, a lotus and a drum in three hands and the fourth hand showering her blessings in a boon conferring gesture.


The Pink colour is seen everywhere on this day; the colour that shows charm, love, delicateness, femininity, and tenderness. We can have sweets like Cham Cham, Pink rasgulla or Rose coconut laddu on this day.

Click here to check out perfect Pink clothing for Ashtami.


Day Nine- Navami



The last and final incarnation of the Goddess is Siddhidhatri. She is the giver of Siddhi (meditative ability or supernatural power). She is seated on a Lotus and is four armed, holding the Sudarshan Chakra in one hand, Shankha in one hand, a Lotus in one hand and a Mace in another hand.


The colour that people dress themselves in, on this day, is Purple- the colour that represents royalty, luxury, nobility, power, magic, pride, peace, dignity, grandeur and devotion. We can have figs on this day if nothing Purple strikes!


Click here to check out perfect Purple clothing for Navami.

Leave a Comment